FAQ - why is my school computer different from home?

Security settings are associated with the users' login name and follow the user from computer to computer on the network. There is not a password that allows the user to enable and disable the security features. All of the rights associated with your user name are passed to whatever computer you're using based on your user login. These rights balance network and hardware security requirements with a computer user's access to pertinent computer resources for accomplishing instructional tasks.

To date, the focus of these policies has been for two groups of users; staff and students. Students have more restrictive security settings than a teacher or other staff member. The student policies prohibit changes to the wallpaper, creation of desktop shortcuts, the addition of screen savers, downloading files, and saving to the hard drive. It also monitors whether or not a student has Internet permission. The teacher policies are similar to the student policies, except that teachers can access the Start menu, save to the local hard drive, and install or remove a printer. Both groups are prevented from installing or uninstalling software. 

Not logging out allows other users access to all files and privileges that are associated with your user name. It is imperative that you log out when leaving a computer workstation to prevent others from accessing your information. 
Website by SchoolMessenger Presence. © 2017 West Corporation. All rights reserved.